Monday, October 12, 2009

Cal Snags 21st Nobel Prize

Oliver E. Williamson, the Edgar F. Kaiser Professor Emeritus of Business, Economics, and Law at UC Berkeley, a pioneer in the multi-disciplinary field of transaction cost economics, and one of the world’s most cited economists, is a winner of the 2009 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences.

This is the fifth economics Nobel for UC Berkeley — three were awarded in the past nine years — and Cal’s 21st Nobel Prize overall in fields including economics, physics, chemistry, and literature.


Anonymous said...

Thank God for some good news!!!

Gavin said...

Is it more difficult to get to one Rose Bowl every 50 years competing against only nine opponents, or to win three Nobel prizes for economics every nine years against economists all over the world?

Dave said...

Good point Gavin. Funny, but true.